How I keep my Obsidian vault super organized with the “Auto Note Mover” plugin

Zachary Shirmohammadli
3 min readJan 23, 2023

Having a folder structure in obsidian is really just half the things you need to do to keep your vault organized. The other half is making sure that every note you create winds up in the appropriate folder in your vault.

This moving of the notes becomes really important if you’re using a plugin like Database Folder to keep track of the notes inside a folder. But having the right place for your notes doesn’t have to be such a labor. You can automate it using the “Auto Note Mover” plugin.

Here in this article, I will talk about how I use “Auto Note Mover” together with my core “Templates” plugin to keep my vault super tidy.

Before we begin, you can get the “Auto Note Mover” plugin either from the Obsidian settings itself, or the following link:

https://obsidian-plugin-stats.vercel.app/plugins/auto-note-mover

How Auto Note Mover works

Auto Note Mover will automatically move the active notes to their respective folders according to the rules.

The rules can be defined after you’ve installed this plugin.

When you’re in the settings of this plugin, make sure the trigger is set to Automatic. This way, you don’t have to manually trigger the auto note mover plugin to move your note. It does it automatically whenever you make a change to the note or save it.

After this, go to the “Add new rule” section. Here, follow these steps:
1. Set the destination folder
2. Set a tag or title that matches the note you want to move. You can set either the tag or the title.
3. The rules a re checked in order from the top. The notes will be moved to the folder with the first matching rule.

Tag: be sure to add a # at the beginning.
Title: Tested by JavaScript regular expressions.

Here are some things you need to have in mind:
1. Attached files will not be moved, but they will still appear in the note.
2. Auto Note Mover will note move notes that have “AutoNoteMover: disable” in the frontmatter.

How I use Auto Note Mover? My workflow

You can use either the tag, or the title that matches a regular expression to be moved according to the rules. But there is a great chance that you will just use the tags like me.

In my case, I only use the tags. I select a folder where I want notes with specific tags to be stored. Then I create a template that has that tag. Whenever I create a new note, and use the template with the tag, the note will be moved to where it belongs as soon as I save the file or make a change to it.

As an example, let’s look at the notes in my “Tutorials” folder. I store all my video tutorials in a folder “Tutorials” inside my “Fleeting notes” folder. Whenever I download a new tutorial, I create a note by pressing `ctrl + n`. Then I press `ctrl + t` to see the list of templates, and then I choose the “Tutorial” template. As soon as I select the template, the note moves to the “Tutorials” folder.

Here’s the full set of rules I’ve set up in my vault:

And here is my Folder Structure:

I hope this post has given you insights on how you can keep your obsidian vault tidy. Let me know how you use the Auto Note Mover plugin in the comments section.

I’m an expert in using Obsidian and I make relevant content. You can follow me if you’re interested into this kind of thing.

Happy writing.

--

--

Zachary Shirmohammadli

I'm a web developer and designer trying to learn things and solve my and everyone else's problems.