My Problems During Quarantine

Zachary Shirmohammadli
4 min readSep 30, 2021

--

We, the roommates of room 210, were woken up from our sweet dreams. “Pack your bags and empty your rooms by noon!” shouted someone out in the corridor of the dorm block we were in. We asked around and came to realize that it was indeed true. we were evacuating the dormitory due to the spread of the deadly COVID-19 and hopefully, we would be back in the span of a week according to the respective president of Iran. It has been one month since then and I have faced major problems. Two of the most major problems I have faced during the quarantine days I am spending in my parents’ house are that I forgot to bring some really important items with me from the dormitory and the other is that I had ordered a bunch of books and now I have to find a way to successfully receive them from the post office.

I have forgotten to pack some of the most necessary items when I was evacuating the dormitory and it was due to the fact that Iran’s president had announced that the quarantine would only take one week. To start with, my espresso maker was one of those important things. I had started to get into the habit of drinking coffee every day when I was in the dormitory, and with my espresso maker no longer in my possession, I had to buy a new one and I admit that it was a wise decision. Another important item I forgot to pack was my books. Once again I had this idea that I must pack light if I wanted to go home and come back a week later, therefore the books were my first option to dispose of, because I thought that I could always use the PDF if I wanted to learn something or do assignments. But with the quarantine span dragging along, I admit that reading the digital version of the books is quite a strain to my eyes. The last item I forgot to bring with me was my bike. Basically, I cannot live without having a good means of transportations, and BIKES are the best way someone can go from A to B. Thanks to the misinformation of the dear president I now have another bike. I bought my bike secondhand from a fellow citizen who was more than willing to sell his bike as he was getting a motorcycle. Overall, I am happy with how things turned out to be regarding the things I forgot to bring with me from the dormitory. My other major problem was regarding some textbooks (18 to be precise) I ordered from a website. The books were to be delivered to me in the dormitory a few days after we left there and considering the fact that I wouldn’t be there to receive the books, I had politely informed the head of the dormitory and kindly asked him to take care of the books. But as it turns out, the dormitory didn’t receive the books and the package was sent back to the sender. On the second try, as the dormitory wouldn’t receive the packages, I gave the address of one of my friends who has rented a house right next to the dormitory and the university. This time though, he was unable to receive it as he also had to leave for his hometown. But the good thing that happened was that Babolsar’s post office contacted me to inform me of the package’s situation, that they could keep the box in the post office in a designated section that was meant to store the packages of students. I gladly accepted their offer. One month later, they sent back the package of books to the bookshop website once again without notifying me. I was furious! It was the second time the package was being sent back and it was no good thing. Finally, the friend I mentioned earlier who resided in Babolsar returned to his house and I gave his address to the company, again! Fortunately, though, this time the books are in good hands. The books have arrived at my friend’s house and they are waiting for us to go there and get them from him.

Having been kicked out of the dormitory without earlier notice and being quarantined sure can cause a lot of problems for people. I have experienced two of my problems which were having forgotten to bring some items with me and the other was to deal with the books that had been sent back to the book company two times. By having experienced these problems and innovating solutions for them I think I have ‎improved and I know that there are going to be so many more hardships ahead and I ‎will make sure that I am fully prepared to face them.‎

--

--

Zachary Shirmohammadli

I'm a web developer and designer trying to learn things and solve my and everyone else's problems.